Super Bowl (January 15, 1967) the LIII edition will be played between the New England Patriots and the Los Angeles Rams. The Super Bowl is the final match of the National Football League (NFL) championship between the National Conference Champion (NFC) and the American Conference monarch (AFC). Fifty-two editions of the Super Bowl have been celebrated. We must indicate that since 2004 it is played on the first Sunday of February, previously it was always played at the end of January.


Lamar Hunt, a former owner of the Kansas City Chiefs, was responsible for baptizing this game, he did so to distinguish it from the various University Bowls that are played among American universities. One version says he called him that because his little son, always kept with a ball called a super ball. The first Super Bowl champion was Green Bay Packers. In the final game, he played the monarch of the National Football League and the American Football League. The winner would be the king of football in the United States. When he began to be popular in Latin America, he was known as the Super Bowl.

We must indicate that the Pittsburgh Steelers has been the most winning Super Bowl franchise; He has obtained it six times and is the most successful team in the NFL. The winner receives the Vince Lombardi Trophy, a name given by the NFL in 1970 in honor of the great head coach of the Green Bay Packers and the Washington Redskins before dying of cancer soon after. The Super Bowl has managed to establish a style and dynamics of entertainment for the spectators who, in the meantime, enjoy recognized artists. The Super Bowl has hired artists like Michael Jackson, Kiss, The Rolling Stone, Madonna, Bruno Mars, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Metallica, among others. Also, it is one of the most coveted events in terms of advertising and one of the ones that generate the most television ratings.

Notable Teams

The team that has won the Super Bowl the most times has been Pittsburgh Steelers, with six titles. They surpassed in 2009 Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers, who have five titles each. On the contrary, the Denver Broncos and New England Patriots have been the ones who have lost the final most times. In total, 28 American football franchises have participated in the last since the first edition, and 19 teams have won the trophy at least once. According to the data, four teams have not played the Super Bowl: Cleveland Browns, Detroit Lions, Houston Texans, and Jacksonville Jaguars.

The NFL chooses the headquarters three years in advance its headquarters, and this decision is made after studying the conditions of capacity, security, and adequate facilities of the space. Traditionally, the chosen venue has a league franchise. It is considered a specialized National Security Event by the United States Secret Service. The cost of official entry into Super Bowl XLII is approximately $ 900. The majority of the places where the final is played are in hot climates. The Miami metropolitan area is the area that has hosted the last most times, then New Orleans and Los Angeles.

As for advertising, the commercial banks during the Super Bowl match are the most expensive on television in the United States, and many companies take advantage of the fame of this sporting event to guide their ads. The first scheduled announcement was from Apple, directed by Ridley Scott, and this was an event in the concept of advertising. Since then, many companies use this space to publicize new products, and even some newspapers such as USA Today organize a contest to reward the best Super Bowl announcement. The price to schedule is quite high, for example, in 2016, a 30-second spot during the game was worth approximately $ 5 million. The amount of ads has been increasing except in 2009 and 2010 due to the financial crisis.